1000 Pigeons for Martha

Location:

Category:

Secondary Images: 
One thousand pigeons for Martha
Primary Image: 
one thousand pigeons for martha
Long Description: 

Help artist Tina Curiel to create 1000 Pigeons for Martha!

Inspired by the Japanese tradition Senbazuru - the folding of a thousand paper cranes - this project aims to create a thousand painted passenger pigeons before September 1, 2014 as a symbolic gesture to make a wish for the protection of endangered species and their natural habitats. This project coincides with the centennial of the passing of Martha, the world's last passenger pigeon, and will act as a moving memorial to the billions of individual pigeons that were lost before her.

Guests can help to make passenger pigeons from 11 AM to 2 PM near the Project Lab.

Summary: 
Help artist Tina Curiel to create 1000 Pigeons for Martha! This project aims to create a thousand painted passenger pigeons before September 1, 2014 as a wish for the protection of endangered species. Guests can help to make passenger pigeons from 11 AM to 2 PM near the Project Lab.
Date: 
Repeats every week until Tue Sep 02 2014 except Fri Jun 27 2014, Fri Jul 04 2014, Fri Jul 18 2014, Fri Jul 25 2014, Fri Aug 08 2014, Fri Aug 22 2014, Fri Aug 29 2014. Also includes Mon Sep 01 2014.
Friday, May 16, 2014 - 11:00
Friday, May 23, 2014 - 11:00
Friday, May 30, 2014 - 11:00
Friday, June 6, 2014 - 11:00
Friday, June 13, 2014 - 11:00
Friday, June 20, 2014 - 11:00
Friday, July 11, 2014 - 11:00
Friday, August 1, 2014 - 11:00
Friday, August 15, 2014 - 11:00
Monday, September 1, 2014 - 11:00
Administrative Notes: 
1000 Pigeons for Martha 5/16, 7/11, 8/1, 9/1