Live Presentation: Ancient Light

Category:

Primary Image: 
The Holmdel Microwave Horn, which was used to discover the Cosmic Microwave Background in 1965.
Long Description: 

Echoes from the creation of our Universe are all around us—in the form of ancient light. One source of light, known as cosmic background radiation (CBR), is a 13.8-billion-year-old relic of the Big Bang, and our advancing abilities to map it have begun to answer questions about when the Universe was born, how it evolved, and what it’s composed of. Explore the secrets of CBR in this live, 15-minute program that features dazzling 3D models created by our own Visualization Studio and imagery from NASA and observatories around the world. Hosted by our planetarium presenters in Hohfeld Hall, "Ancient Light" takes a closer look at one of humankind’s most profound discoveries, and invites audiences to engage and ask questions about the Universe as we know it.

No passes required. All ages welcome.

Summary: 
Explore what one form of ancient light, cosmic background radiation, has taught us about the formation of our universe in this live, 15–minute program.
Date: 
Repeats every week every Monday and every Tuesday and every Wednesday and every Thursday and every Friday until Wed May 14 2014 except Mon Feb 17 2014, Tue Feb 18 2014, Wed Feb 19 2014, Thu Feb 20 2014, Fri Feb 21 2014, Mon Feb 24 2014, Tue Feb 25 2014, Wed Feb 26 2014, Wed Feb 26 2014, Mon Mar 31 2014, Tue Apr 01 2014, Wed Apr 02 2014, Thu Apr 03 2014, Fri Apr 04 2014, Mon Apr 14 2014, Tue Apr 15 2014, Wed Apr 16 2014, Thu Apr 17 2014, Fri Apr 18 2014, Mon Apr 21 2014, Tue Apr 22 2014, Wed Apr 23 2014, Thu Apr 24 2014, Fri Apr 25 2014, Tue May 06 2014, Wed May 07 2014.
Friday, January 31, 2014 - 12:40
Monday, February 3, 2014 - 12:40
Tuesday, February 4, 2014 - 12:40
Wednesday, February 5, 2014 - 12:40
Thursday, February 6, 2014 - 12:40
Friday, February 7, 2014 - 12:40
Monday, February 10, 2014 - 12:40
Tuesday, February 11, 2014 - 12:40
Wednesday, February 12, 2014 - 12:40
Thursday, February 13, 2014 - 12:40
Friday, February 14, 2014 - 12:40
Thursday, February 27, 2014 - 12:40
Friday, February 28, 2014 - 12:40
Monday, March 3, 2014 - 12:40
Tuesday, March 4, 2014 - 12:40
Wednesday, March 5, 2014 - 12:40
Thursday, March 6, 2014 - 12:40
Friday, March 7, 2014 - 12:40
Monday, March 10, 2014 - 12:40
Tuesday, March 11, 2014 - 12:40
Wednesday, March 12, 2014 - 12:40
Thursday, March 13, 2014 - 12:40
Friday, March 14, 2014 - 12:40
Monday, March 17, 2014 - 12:40
Tuesday, March 18, 2014 - 12:40
Wednesday, March 19, 2014 - 12:40
Thursday, March 20, 2014 - 12:40
Friday, March 21, 2014 - 12:40
Monday, March 24, 2014 - 12:40
Tuesday, March 25, 2014 - 12:40
Wednesday, March 26, 2014 - 12:40
Thursday, March 27, 2014 - 12:40
Friday, March 28, 2014 - 12:40
Monday, April 7, 2014 - 12:40
Tuesday, April 8, 2014 - 12:40
Wednesday, April 9, 2014 - 12:40
Thursday, April 10, 2014 - 12:40
Friday, April 11, 2014 - 12:40
Monday, April 28, 2014 - 12:40
Tuesday, April 29, 2014 - 12:40
Wednesday, April 30, 2014 - 12:40
Thursday, May 1, 2014 - 12:40
Friday, May 2, 2014 - 12:40
Monday, May 5, 2014 - 12:40
Thursday, May 8, 2014 - 12:40
Friday, May 9, 2014 - 12:40
Monday, May 12, 2014 - 12:40
Tuesday, May 13, 2014 - 12:40
Wednesday, May 14, 2014 - 12:40
Administrative Notes: 
Weekdays at 12:40, 1/31/14-5/14/14