Live Presentation: Ancient Light

Category:

Primary Image: 
The Holmdel Microwave Horn, which was used to discover the Cosmic Microwave Background in 1965.
Time Slots: 
10:40
11:25
12:10
12:55
13:40
14:25
15:10
15:55
16:40
Long Description: 

Echoes from the creation of our Universe are all around us—in the form of ancient light. One source of light, known as cosmic background radiation (CBR), is a 13.8-billion-year-old relic of the Big Bang, and our advancing abilities to map it have begun to answer questions about when the Universe was born, how it evolved, and what it’s composed of. Explore the secrets of CBR in this live, 15-minute program that features dazzling 3D models created by our own Visualization Studio and imagery from NASA and observatories around the world. Hosted by our planetarium presenters in Hohfeld Hall, "Ancient Light" takes a closer look at one of humankind’s most profound discoveries, and invites audiences to engage and ask questions about the Universe as we know it.

No passes required. All ages welcome.

Summary: 
Explore what one form of ancient light, cosmic background radiation, has taught us about the formation of our universe in this live, 15–minute program.
Date: 
Repeats every week every Sunday and every Saturday until Thu May 15 2014 except Sun Feb 09 2014, Thu Apr 24 2014. Also includes Mon Feb 17 2014, Tue Feb 18 2014, Wed Feb 19 2014, Thu Feb 20 2014, Fri Feb 21 2014, Mon Mar 31 2014, Tue Apr 01 2014, Wed Apr 02 2014, Thu Apr 03 2014, Fri Apr 04 2014, Mon Apr 14 2014, Tue Apr 15 2014, Wed Apr 16 2014, Thu Apr 17 2014, Fri Apr 18 2014, Mon Apr 21 2014, Tue Apr 22 2014, Wed Apr 23 2014, Fri Apr 25 2014, Tue May 06 2014, Wed May 07 2014.
Saturday, February 1, 2014 - 10:40
Sunday, February 2, 2014 - 10:40
Saturday, February 8, 2014 - 10:40
Saturday, February 15, 2014 - 10:40
Sunday, February 16, 2014 - 10:40
Monday, February 17, 2014 - 10:40
Tuesday, February 18, 2014 - 10:40
Wednesday, February 19, 2014 - 10:40
Thursday, February 20, 2014 - 10:40
Friday, February 21, 2014 - 10:40
Saturday, February 22, 2014 - 10:40
Sunday, February 23, 2014 - 10:40
Saturday, March 1, 2014 - 10:40
Sunday, March 2, 2014 - 10:40
Saturday, March 8, 2014 - 10:40
Sunday, March 9, 2014 - 10:40
Saturday, March 15, 2014 - 10:40
Sunday, March 16, 2014 - 10:40
Saturday, March 22, 2014 - 10:40
Sunday, March 23, 2014 - 10:40
Saturday, March 29, 2014 - 10:40
Sunday, March 30, 2014 - 10:40
Monday, March 31, 2014 - 10:40
Tuesday, April 1, 2014 - 10:40
Wednesday, April 2, 2014 - 10:40
Thursday, April 3, 2014 - 10:40
Friday, April 4, 2014 - 10:40
Saturday, April 5, 2014 - 10:40
Sunday, April 6, 2014 - 10:40
Saturday, April 12, 2014 - 10:40
Sunday, April 13, 2014 - 10:40
Monday, April 14, 2014 - 10:40
Tuesday, April 15, 2014 - 10:40
Wednesday, April 16, 2014 - 10:40
Thursday, April 17, 2014 - 10:40
Friday, April 18, 2014 - 10:40
Saturday, April 19, 2014 - 10:40
Sunday, April 20, 2014 - 10:40
Monday, April 21, 2014 - 10:40
Tuesday, April 22, 2014 - 10:40
Wednesday, April 23, 2014 - 10:40
Friday, April 25, 2014 - 10:40
Saturday, April 26, 2014 - 10:40
Sunday, April 27, 2014 - 10:40
Saturday, May 3, 2014 - 10:40
Sunday, May 4, 2014 - 10:40
Tuesday, May 6, 2014 - 10:40
Wednesday, May 7, 2014 - 10:40
Saturday, May 10, 2014 - 10:40
Sunday, May 11, 2014 - 10:40
Administrative Notes: 
Weekends starting 2/1/14-5/11/14; every 45 minutes, starting @ 10:40am