Planetarium show - Dark Universe

Location:

Category:

Primary Image: 
As seen from anywhere in the Universe, almost all galaxies appear to be moving away from the observer.
Time Slots: 
11:15
12:00
12:45
13:30
14:15
15:00
15:45
16:30
Long Description: 

Nearly everything we know about the Universe has changed: Galaxies are held together by a substance we can’t see, and a force strong enough to counteract gravity is at work in the dark in-betweens. Explore two of today’s greatest cosmic mysteries—dark matter and dark energy—in this vast, data-fueled starscape of beauty and wonder. Hurtle through Jupiter’s atmosphere, sail out to deep space, and be there for the birth of our own galaxy while exploring never-before-seen visualizations of the invisible matter and forces at work in our Universe. Written by best-selling author Timothy Ferris and narrated by renowned astrophysicist Neil deGrasse Tyson, Dark Universe is a celebration of the pivotal discoveries we’ve made thus far—and of the questions that still drive our pursuit of the unknown.

Dark Universe was developed by the American Museum of Natural History, New York, in collaboration with the California Academy of Sciences, San Francisco, and GOTO Inc., Tokyo, Japan. 

Due to limited seating, show passes are handed out on a first-come/first-served basis—please visit the cart at the planetarium's entrance to pick up your tickets. Our schedule is subject to change, so it's a great idea to confirm your preferred showtime on the day of your visit. Note: Shows may not be appropriate for children 6 and younger, and we regret that we cannot welcome anyone under 4. School and youth groups are required to make advance reservations. 

Summary: 
Explore two of today’s greatest cosmic mysteries—dark matter and dark energy—in a vast, data-fueled starscape of beauty and wonder.
Date: 
Repeats every week every Sunday and every Saturday until Sun May 25 2014 except Sun Feb 09 2014, Thu Apr 24 2014. Also includes Mon Feb 17 2014, Tue Feb 18 2014, Wed Feb 19 2014, Thu Feb 20 2014, Fri Feb 21 2014, Mon Mar 31 2014, Tue Apr 01 2014, Wed Apr 02 2014, Thu Apr 03 2014, Fri Apr 04 2014, Mon Apr 14 2014, Tue Apr 15 2014, Wed Apr 16 2014, Thu Apr 17 2014, Fri Apr 18 2014, Mon Apr 21 2014, Tue Apr 22 2014, Wed Apr 23 2014, Fri Apr 25 2014, Tue May 06 2014, Wed May 07 2014, Mon May 26 2014.
Saturday, February 1, 2014 - 11:15
Sunday, February 2, 2014 - 11:15
Saturday, February 8, 2014 - 11:15
Saturday, February 15, 2014 - 11:15
Sunday, February 16, 2014 - 11:15
Monday, February 17, 2014 - 11:15
Tuesday, February 18, 2014 - 11:15
Wednesday, February 19, 2014 - 11:15
Thursday, February 20, 2014 - 11:15
Friday, February 21, 2014 - 11:15
Saturday, February 22, 2014 - 11:15
Sunday, February 23, 2014 - 11:15
Saturday, March 1, 2014 - 11:15
Sunday, March 2, 2014 - 11:15
Saturday, March 8, 2014 - 11:15
Sunday, March 9, 2014 - 11:15
Saturday, March 15, 2014 - 11:15
Sunday, March 16, 2014 - 11:15
Saturday, March 22, 2014 - 11:15
Sunday, March 23, 2014 - 11:15
Saturday, March 29, 2014 - 11:15
Sunday, March 30, 2014 - 11:15
Monday, March 31, 2014 - 11:15
Tuesday, April 1, 2014 - 11:15
Wednesday, April 2, 2014 - 11:15
Thursday, April 3, 2014 - 11:15
Friday, April 4, 2014 - 11:15
Saturday, April 5, 2014 - 11:15
Sunday, April 6, 2014 - 11:15
Saturday, April 12, 2014 - 11:15
Sunday, April 13, 2014 - 11:15
Monday, April 14, 2014 - 11:15
Tuesday, April 15, 2014 - 11:15
Wednesday, April 16, 2014 - 11:15
Thursday, April 17, 2014 - 11:15
Friday, April 18, 2014 - 11:15
Saturday, April 19, 2014 - 11:15
Sunday, April 20, 2014 - 11:15
Monday, April 21, 2014 - 11:15
Tuesday, April 22, 2014 - 11:15
Wednesday, April 23, 2014 - 11:15
Friday, April 25, 2014 - 11:15
Saturday, April 26, 2014 - 11:15
Sunday, April 27, 2014 - 11:15
Saturday, May 3, 2014 - 11:15
Sunday, May 4, 2014 - 11:15
Tuesday, May 6, 2014 - 11:15
Wednesday, May 7, 2014 - 11:15
Saturday, May 10, 2014 - 11:15
Sunday, May 11, 2014 - 11:15
Saturday, May 17, 2014 - 11:15
Sunday, May 18, 2014 - 11:15
Saturday, May 24, 2014 - 11:15
Sunday, May 25, 2014 - 11:15
Monday, May 26, 2014 - 11:15
Administrative Notes: 
Pre-summer weekend (45-min) schedule, starting with 11:15 show (with exceptions for Free Day, Ski Week & Spring Break). Separate entries for Saturday 10:30 show, weekdays, & summer schedule. Runs 1/31/14 through 5/25/14, includes Rainforest closure dates (5/6-7) & Memorial Day (5/26).