Planetarium show - Dark Universe

Location:

Category:

Primary Image: 
As seen from anywhere in the Universe, almost all galaxies appear to be moving away from the observer.
Time Slots: 
10:30
11:15
12:00
12:45
13:30
14:15
15:00
15:45
16:30
Long Description: 

Nearly everything we know about the Universe has changed: Galaxies are held together by a substance we can’t see, and a force strong enough to counteract gravity is at work in the dark in-betweens. Explore two of today’s greatest cosmic mysteries—dark matter and dark energy—in this vast, data-fueled starscape of beauty and wonder. Hurtle through Jupiter’s atmosphere, sail out to deep space, and be there for the birth of our own galaxy while exploring never-before-seen visualizations of the invisible matter and forces at work in our Universe. Written by best-selling author Timothy Ferris and narrated by renowned astrophysicist Neil deGrasse Tyson, Dark Universe is a celebration of the pivotal discoveries we’ve made thus far—and of the questions that still drive our pursuit of the unknown.

Dark Universe was developed by the American Museum of Natural History, New York, in collaboration with the California Academy of Sciences, San Francisco, and GOTO Inc., Tokyo, Japan.

Due to limited seating, show passes are handed out on a first-come/first-served basis—please visit the cart at the planetarium's entrance to pick up your tickets. Our schedule is subject to change, so it's a great idea to confirm your preferred showtime on the day of your visit. Note: Shows may not be appropriate for children 6 and younger, and we regret that we cannot welcome anyone under 4. School and youth groups are required to make advance reservations.

Summary: 
Explore two of today’s greatest cosmic mysteries—dark matter and dark energy—in a vast, data-fueled starscape of beauty and wonder.
Date: 
Repeats every week every Monday and every Tuesday and every Wednesday and every Thursday and every Friday and every Saturday until Mon Sep 01 2014 except Sun Jun 01 2014, Wed Jun 11 2014.
Saturday, May 31, 2014 - 10:30
Monday, June 2, 2014 - 10:30
Tuesday, June 3, 2014 - 10:30
Wednesday, June 4, 2014 - 10:30
Thursday, June 5, 2014 - 10:30
Friday, June 6, 2014 - 10:30
Saturday, June 7, 2014 - 10:30
Monday, June 9, 2014 - 10:30
Tuesday, June 10, 2014 - 10:30
Thursday, June 12, 2014 - 10:30
Friday, June 13, 2014 - 10:30
Saturday, June 14, 2014 - 10:30
Monday, June 16, 2014 - 10:30
Tuesday, June 17, 2014 - 10:30
Wednesday, June 18, 2014 - 10:30
Thursday, June 19, 2014 - 10:30
Friday, June 20, 2014 - 10:30
Saturday, June 21, 2014 - 10:30
Monday, June 23, 2014 - 10:30
Tuesday, June 24, 2014 - 10:30
Wednesday, June 25, 2014 - 10:30
Thursday, June 26, 2014 - 10:30
Friday, June 27, 2014 - 10:30
Saturday, June 28, 2014 - 10:30
Monday, June 30, 2014 - 10:30
Tuesday, July 1, 2014 - 10:30
Wednesday, July 2, 2014 - 10:30
Thursday, July 3, 2014 - 10:30
Friday, July 4, 2014 - 10:30
Saturday, July 5, 2014 - 10:30
Monday, July 7, 2014 - 10:30
Tuesday, July 8, 2014 - 10:30
Wednesday, July 9, 2014 - 10:30
Thursday, July 10, 2014 - 10:30
Friday, July 11, 2014 - 10:30
Saturday, July 12, 2014 - 10:30
Monday, July 14, 2014 - 10:30
Tuesday, July 15, 2014 - 10:30
Wednesday, July 16, 2014 - 10:30
Thursday, July 17, 2014 - 10:30
Friday, July 18, 2014 - 10:30
Saturday, July 19, 2014 - 10:30
Monday, July 21, 2014 - 10:30
Tuesday, July 22, 2014 - 10:30
Wednesday, July 23, 2014 - 10:30
Thursday, July 24, 2014 - 10:30
Friday, July 25, 2014 - 10:30
Saturday, July 26, 2014 - 10:30
Monday, July 28, 2014 - 10:30
Tuesday, July 29, 2014 - 10:30
Wednesday, July 30, 2014 - 10:30
Thursday, July 31, 2014 - 10:30
Friday, August 1, 2014 - 10:30
Saturday, August 2, 2014 - 10:30
Monday, August 4, 2014 - 10:30
Tuesday, August 5, 2014 - 10:30
Wednesday, August 6, 2014 - 10:30
Thursday, August 7, 2014 - 10:30
Friday, August 8, 2014 - 10:30
Saturday, August 9, 2014 - 10:30
Monday, August 11, 2014 - 10:30
Tuesday, August 12, 2014 - 10:30
Wednesday, August 13, 2014 - 10:30
Thursday, August 14, 2014 - 10:30
Friday, August 15, 2014 - 10:30
Saturday, August 16, 2014 - 10:30
Monday, August 18, 2014 - 10:30
Tuesday, August 19, 2014 - 10:30
Wednesday, August 20, 2014 - 10:30
Thursday, August 21, 2014 - 10:30
Friday, August 22, 2014 - 10:30
Saturday, August 23, 2014 - 10:30
Monday, August 25, 2014 - 10:30
Tuesday, August 26, 2014 - 10:30
Wednesday, August 27, 2014 - 10:30
Thursday, August 28, 2014 - 10:30
Friday, August 29, 2014 - 10:30
Saturday, August 30, 2014 - 10:30
Monday, September 1, 2014 - 10:30
Administrative Notes: 
Summer daily schedule (45+), including 10:30 show, 5/31-9/1/14. Sundays not included because of members' show (covered by separate entry)