Planetarium Show - Dark Universe

Location:

Category:

Primary Image: 
As seen from anywhere in the Universe, almost all galaxies appear to be moving away from the observer.
Time Slots: 
11:15
12:00
12:45
13:30
14:15
15:00
15:45
16:30
Long Description: 

Nearly everything we know about the Universe has changed: Galaxies are held together by a substance we can’t see, and a force strong enough to counteract gravity is at work in the dark in-betweens. Explore two of today’s greatest cosmic mysteries—dark matter and dark energy—in this vast, data-fueled starscape of beauty and wonder. Hurtle through Jupiter’s atmosphere, sail out to deep space, and be there for the birth of our own galaxy while exploring never-before-seen visualizations of the invisible matter and forces at work in our Universe. Written by best-selling author Timothy Ferris and narrated by renowned astrophysicist Neil deGrasse Tyson, Dark Universe is a celebration of the pivotal discoveries we’ve made thus far—and of the questions that still drive our pursuit of the unknown.

Dark Universe was developed by the American Museum of Natural History, New York, in collaboration with the California Academy of Sciences, San Francisco, and GOTO Inc., Tokyo, Japan. 

Due to limited seating, show passes are handed out on a first-come/first-served basis—please visit the cart at the planetarium's entrance to pick up your tickets. Our schedule is subject to change, so it's a great idea to confirm your preferred showtime on the day of your visit. Note: Shows may not be appropriate for children 6 and younger, and we regret that we cannot welcome anyone under 4. School and youth groups are required to make advance reservations.

Summary: 
Explore two of today’s greatest cosmic mysteries—dark matter and dark energy—in a vast, data-fueled starscape of beauty and wonder.
Date: 
Repeats every week every Sunday until Sun Aug 31 2014 .
Sunday, June 8, 2014 - 11:15
Sunday, June 15, 2014 - 11:15
Sunday, June 22, 2014 - 11:15
Sunday, June 29, 2014 - 11:15
Sunday, July 6, 2014 - 11:15
Sunday, July 13, 2014 - 11:15
Sunday, July 20, 2014 - 11:15
Sunday, July 27, 2014 - 11:15
Sunday, August 3, 2014 - 11:15
Sunday, August 10, 2014 - 11:15
Sunday, August 17, 2014 - 11:15
Sunday, August 24, 2014 - 11:15
Sunday, August 31, 2014 - 11:15
Administrative Notes: 
Sunday schedule June 8-Aug 31