Planetarium Show - Earthquake: Evidence of a Restless Planet

Location:

Category:

Primary Image: 
Evidence of a Restless Planet
Time Slots: 
11:30
12:30
13:30
14:30
15:30
16:30
Long Description: 

A sweeping geological journey, Earthquake explores the forces that transform the surface of our planet. After a stunning flight over the San Andreas Fault, audiences travel back in time to experience San Francisco's infamous 1906 earthquake. Data-driven visualizations illustrate Earth's story, revealing how subtle motions and sudden ruptures have shaped our planet over eons—and how geological activity influences the course of human history. Finally, see how scientists and engineers help society prepare for a safer future.

Please note that this schedule is subject to change due to exhibit closures or special events.

The Planetarium is very popular and tickets are handed out on a first come first serve basis due to limited seating. Visit the cart at the planetarium theater to pick up a show pass. In addition, please remember that shows may not be appropriate for kids 6 and under, and that children 3 and under are not permitted.

School and youth groups are required to have an advance reservation in a school show in order to attend the Planetarium. Please check your reservation carefully for confirmation of any requested programs, we do not accept walkup requests on the day of your field trip.

Summary: 
A sweeping geological journey, Earthquake explores the forces that transform the surface of our planet. Free show passes are distributed on a first-come, first-served basis at the Planetarium entrance.
Date: 
Repeats every week every Monday and every Tuesday and every Wednesday and every Thursday and every Friday until Mon Dec 31 2012 except Tue Sep 11 2012, Wed Sep 12 2012, Mon Sep 17 2012, Tue Sep 18 2012, Wed Sep 19 2012, Mon Oct 08 2012, Mon Nov 05 2012, Tue Nov 06 2012, Wed Nov 07 2012, Thu Nov 08 2012, Fri Nov 09 2012, Mon Nov 12 2012, Thu Nov 22 2012, Fri Nov 23 2012, Wed Nov 28 2012, Tue Dec 25 2012, Wed Dec 26 2012, Thu Dec 27 2012, Fri Dec 28 2012, Mon Dec 31 2012.
Tuesday, September 4, 2012 - 11:30
Wednesday, September 5, 2012 - 11:30
Thursday, September 6, 2012 - 11:30
Friday, September 7, 2012 - 11:30
Monday, September 10, 2012 - 11:30
Thursday, September 13, 2012 - 11:30
Friday, September 14, 2012 - 11:30
Thursday, September 20, 2012 - 11:30
Friday, September 21, 2012 - 11:30
Monday, September 24, 2012 - 11:30
Tuesday, September 25, 2012 - 11:30
Wednesday, September 26, 2012 - 11:30
Thursday, September 27, 2012 - 11:30
Friday, September 28, 2012 - 11:30
Monday, October 1, 2012 - 11:30
Tuesday, October 2, 2012 - 11:30
Wednesday, October 3, 2012 - 11:30
Thursday, October 4, 2012 - 11:30
Friday, October 5, 2012 - 11:30
Tuesday, October 9, 2012 - 11:30
Wednesday, October 10, 2012 - 11:30
Thursday, October 11, 2012 - 11:30
Friday, October 12, 2012 - 11:30
Monday, October 15, 2012 - 11:30
Tuesday, October 16, 2012 - 11:30
Wednesday, October 17, 2012 - 11:30
Thursday, October 18, 2012 - 11:30
Friday, October 19, 2012 - 11:30
Monday, October 22, 2012 - 11:30
Tuesday, October 23, 2012 - 11:30
Wednesday, October 24, 2012 - 11:30
Thursday, October 25, 2012 - 11:30
Friday, October 26, 2012 - 11:30
Monday, October 29, 2012 - 11:30
Tuesday, October 30, 2012 - 11:30
Wednesday, October 31, 2012 - 11:30
Thursday, November 1, 2012 - 11:30
Friday, November 2, 2012 - 11:30
Tuesday, November 13, 2012 - 11:30
Wednesday, November 14, 2012 - 11:30
Thursday, November 15, 2012 - 11:30
Friday, November 16, 2012 - 11:30
Monday, November 19, 2012 - 11:30
Tuesday, November 20, 2012 - 11:30
Wednesday, November 21, 2012 - 11:30
Monday, November 26, 2012 - 11:30
Tuesday, November 27, 2012 - 11:30
Thursday, November 29, 2012 - 11:30
Friday, November 30, 2012 - 11:30
Monday, December 3, 2012 - 11:30
Tuesday, December 4, 2012 - 11:30
Wednesday, December 5, 2012 - 11:30
Thursday, December 6, 2012 - 11:30
Friday, December 7, 2012 - 11:30
Monday, December 10, 2012 - 11:30
Tuesday, December 11, 2012 - 11:30
Wednesday, December 12, 2012 - 11:30
Thursday, December 13, 2012 - 11:30
Friday, December 14, 2012 - 11:30
Monday, December 17, 2012 - 11:30
Tuesday, December 18, 2012 - 11:30
Wednesday, December 19, 2012 - 11:30
Thursday, December 20, 2012 - 11:30
Friday, December 21, 2012 - 11:30
Monday, December 24, 2012 - 11:30
Administrative Notes: 
Mon-Fri, 60-min cycle, 11:30am start time, last show at 4:30pm. Starts Sept 4, 2012, ends Dec 21, 2012 when the schedule will change to accommodate the Christmas holiday. Separate entry for weekends, which are on 45-min cycle. 10:30 show every weekday is school show, not open to public.