Planetarium Show - Earthquake: Evidence of a Restless Planet

Category:

Primary Image: 
Evidence of a Restless Planet
Time Slots: 
11:15
12:00
12:45
13:30
14:15
15:00
15:45
16:30
Long Description: 

A sweeping geological journey, Earthquake explores the forces that transform the surface of our planet. After a stunning flight over the San Andreas Fault, audiences travel back in time to experience San Francisco's infamous 1906 earthquake. Data-driven visualizations illustrate Earth's story, revealing how subtle motions and sudden ruptures have shaped our planet over eons—and how geological activity influences the course of human history. Finally, see how scientists and engineers help society prepare for a safer future.

Please note that this schedule is subject to change due to exhibit closures or special events.

The Planetarium is very popular and tickets are handed out on a first come first serve basis due to limited seating. Visit the cart at the planetarium theater to pick up a show pass. In addition, please remember that shows may not be appropriate for kids 6 and under, and that children 3 and under are not permitted.

School and youth groups are required to have an advance reservation in a school show in order to attend the Planetarium. Please check your reservation carefully for confirmation of any requested programs, we do not accept walkup requests on the day of your field trip.

Summary: 
A sweeping geological journey, Earthquake explores the forces that transform the surface of our planet. Free show passes are distributed on a first-come, first-served basis at the Planetarium entrance.
Date: 
Repeats every week every Sunday and every Saturday until Sun Dec 16 2012 except Sun Sep 16 2012, Sat Nov 24 2012, Sun Nov 25 2012, Sun Dec 09 2012, Sat Dec 29 2012, Sun Dec 30 2012, Sun Mar 03 2013. Also includes Tue Sep 11 2012, Wed Sep 12 2012, Mon Oct 08 2012, Mon Nov 12 2012, Sat Dec 22 2012, Sun Dec 23 2012.
Saturday, September 8, 2012 - 11:15
Sunday, September 9, 2012 - 11:15
Tuesday, September 11, 2012 - 11:15
Wednesday, September 12, 2012 - 11:15
Saturday, September 15, 2012 - 11:15
Saturday, September 22, 2012 - 11:15
Sunday, September 23, 2012 - 11:15
Saturday, September 29, 2012 - 11:15
Sunday, September 30, 2012 - 11:15
Saturday, October 6, 2012 - 11:15
Sunday, October 7, 2012 - 11:15
Monday, October 8, 2012 - 11:15
Saturday, October 13, 2012 - 11:15
Sunday, October 14, 2012 - 11:15
Saturday, October 20, 2012 - 11:15
Sunday, October 21, 2012 - 11:15
Saturday, October 27, 2012 - 11:15
Sunday, October 28, 2012 - 11:15
Saturday, November 3, 2012 - 11:15
Sunday, November 4, 2012 - 11:15
Saturday, November 10, 2012 - 11:15
Sunday, November 11, 2012 - 11:15
Monday, November 12, 2012 - 11:15
Saturday, November 17, 2012 - 11:15
Sunday, November 18, 2012 - 11:15
Saturday, December 1, 2012 - 11:15
Sunday, December 2, 2012 - 11:15
Saturday, December 8, 2012 - 11:15
Saturday, December 15, 2012 - 11:15
Sunday, December 16, 2012 - 11:15
Saturday, December 22, 2012 - 11:15
Sunday, December 23, 2012 - 11:15
Administrative Notes: 
EARTHQUAKE: weekend & holiday, 45-min cycle, 11:15am start time, last show at 4:30pm. Starts Sept 4, 2012, ends June 23, 2013. Peak holidays & Quarterly Free Sundays, excluded, when on 30-minute show cycle. Separate entry for Saturday 10:30am shows, because Sunday 10:30 show is for members only.