Planetarium Show - Earthquake: Evidence of a Restless Planet

Location:

Category:

Primary Image: 
Simulation of seismic waves from San Francisco's 1906 earthquake
Time Slots: 
10:30
12:00
13:30
15:00
16:30
Long Description: 

A sweeping geological journey, Earthquake explores the forces that transform the surface of our planet. After a stunning flight over the San Andreas Fault, audiences travel back in time to experience San Francisco's infamous 1906 earthquake. Data-driven visualizations illustrate Earth's story, revealing how subtle motions and sudden ruptures have shaped our planet over eons—and how geological activity influences the course of human history. Finally, see how scientists and engineers help society prepare for a safer future.

Please note that this schedule is subject to change due to exhibit closures or special events.

The Planetarium is very popular and tickets are handed out on a first come first serve basis due to limited seating. Visit the cart at the planetarium theater to pick up a show pass. In addition, please remember that shows may not be appropriate for kids 6 and under, and that children 3 and under are not permitted.

School and youth groups are required to have an advance reservation in a school show in order to attend the Planetarium. Please check your reservation carefully for confirmation of any requested programs, we do not accept walkup requests on the day of your field trip.

Summary: 
A sweeping geological journey, Earthquake explores the forces that transform the surface of our planet. Free show passes are distributed on a first-come, first-served basis at the Planetarium entrance.
Date: 
Repeats every week every Monday and every Tuesday and every Wednesday and every Thursday and every Friday until Mon Sep 02 2013 except Tue May 28 2013, Wed May 29 2013, Thu May 30 2013, Fri May 31 2013.
Monday, May 27, 2013 - 10:30
Monday, June 3, 2013 - 10:30
Tuesday, June 4, 2013 - 10:30
Wednesday, June 5, 2013 - 10:30
Thursday, June 6, 2013 - 10:30
Friday, June 7, 2013 - 10:30
Monday, June 10, 2013 - 10:30
Tuesday, June 11, 2013 - 10:30
Wednesday, June 12, 2013 - 10:30
Thursday, June 13, 2013 - 10:30
Friday, June 14, 2013 - 10:30
Monday, June 17, 2013 - 10:30
Tuesday, June 18, 2013 - 10:30
Wednesday, June 19, 2013 - 10:30
Thursday, June 20, 2013 - 10:30
Friday, June 21, 2013 - 10:30
Monday, June 24, 2013 - 10:30
Tuesday, June 25, 2013 - 10:30
Wednesday, June 26, 2013 - 10:30
Thursday, June 27, 2013 - 10:30
Friday, June 28, 2013 - 10:30
Monday, July 1, 2013 - 10:30
Tuesday, July 2, 2013 - 10:30
Wednesday, July 3, 2013 - 10:30
Thursday, July 4, 2013 - 10:30
Friday, July 5, 2013 - 10:30
Monday, July 8, 2013 - 10:30
Tuesday, July 9, 2013 - 10:30
Wednesday, July 10, 2013 - 10:30
Thursday, July 11, 2013 - 10:30
Friday, July 12, 2013 - 10:30
Monday, July 15, 2013 - 10:30
Tuesday, July 16, 2013 - 10:30
Wednesday, July 17, 2013 - 10:30
Thursday, July 18, 2013 - 10:30
Friday, July 19, 2013 - 10:30
Monday, July 22, 2013 - 10:30
Tuesday, July 23, 2013 - 10:30
Wednesday, July 24, 2013 - 10:30
Thursday, July 25, 2013 - 10:30
Friday, July 26, 2013 - 10:30
Monday, July 29, 2013 - 10:30
Tuesday, July 30, 2013 - 10:30
Wednesday, July 31, 2013 - 10:30
Thursday, August 1, 2013 - 10:30
Friday, August 2, 2013 - 10:30
Monday, August 5, 2013 - 10:30
Tuesday, August 6, 2013 - 10:30
Wednesday, August 7, 2013 - 10:30
Thursday, August 8, 2013 - 10:30
Friday, August 9, 2013 - 10:30
Monday, August 12, 2013 - 10:30
Tuesday, August 13, 2013 - 10:30
Wednesday, August 14, 2013 - 10:30
Thursday, August 15, 2013 - 10:30
Friday, August 16, 2013 - 10:30
Monday, August 19, 2013 - 10:30
Tuesday, August 20, 2013 - 10:30
Wednesday, August 21, 2013 - 10:30
Thursday, August 22, 2013 - 10:30
Friday, August 23, 2013 - 10:30
Monday, August 26, 2013 - 10:30
Tuesday, August 27, 2013 - 10:30
Wednesday, August 28, 2013 - 10:30
Thursday, August 29, 2013 - 10:30
Friday, August 30, 2013 - 10:30
Monday, September 2, 2013 - 10:30
Administrative Notes: 
Summer 2013 schedule (May 25-Sept 2), weekdays on 45-min repertory schedule, alternating with FP. Daily 10:30 shows added because no school shows are given during the summer.