Planetarium show - Earthquake: Evidence of a Restless Planet

Location:

Category:

Primary Image: 
Simulation of seismic waves from San Francisco's 1906 earthquake
Time Slots: 
11:30
13:30
15:30
Long Description: 

A sweeping geological journey, Earthquake explores the forces that transform the surface of our planet. After a stunning flight over the San Andreas Fault, audiences travel back in time to experience San Francisco's infamous 1906 earthquake. Data-driven visualizations illustrate Earth's story, revealing how subtle motions and sudden ruptures have shaped our planet over eons—and how geological activity influences the course of human history. Finally, see how scientists and engineers help society prepare for a safer future.

Please note that this schedule is subject to change due to exhibit closures or special events.

The Planetarium is very popular and tickets are handed out on a first come first serve basis due to limited seating. Visit the cart at the planetarium theater to pick up a show pass. In addition, please remember that shows may not be appropriate for kids 6 and under, and that children 3 and under are not permitted.

School and youth groups are required to have an advance reservation in a school show in order to attend the Planetarium. Please check your reservation carefully for confirmation of any requested programs, we do not accept walkup requests on the day of your field trip.

Summary: 
A sweeping geological journey, Earthquake explores the forces that transform the surface of our planet. Free show passes are distributed on a first-come, first-served basis at the Planetarium entrance.
Date: 
Repeats every week every Monday and every Tuesday and every Wednesday and every Thursday and every Friday until Thu Jan 30 2014 except Tue Sep 17 2013, Wed Sep 18 2013, Mon Sep 23 2013, Tue Sep 24 2013, Wed Sep 25 2013, Mon Oct 14 2013, Mon Nov 11 2013, Thu Nov 28 2013, Fri Nov 29 2013, Mon Dec 23 2013, Tue Dec 24 2013, Wed Dec 25 2013, Thu Dec 26 2013, Fri Dec 27 2013, Mon Dec 30 2013, Tue Dec 31 2013, Wed Jan 01 2014, Thu Jan 02 2014, Fri Jan 03 2014, Tue Jan 14 2014, Wed Jan 15 2014, Thu Jan 16 2014, Mon Jan 20 2014.
Tuesday, September 3, 2013 - 11:30
Wednesday, September 4, 2013 - 11:30
Thursday, September 5, 2013 - 11:30
Friday, September 6, 2013 - 11:30
Monday, September 9, 2013 - 11:30
Tuesday, September 10, 2013 - 11:30
Wednesday, September 11, 2013 - 11:30
Thursday, September 12, 2013 - 11:30
Friday, September 13, 2013 - 11:30
Monday, September 16, 2013 - 11:30
Thursday, September 19, 2013 - 11:30
Friday, September 20, 2013 - 11:30
Thursday, September 26, 2013 - 11:30
Friday, September 27, 2013 - 11:30
Monday, September 30, 2013 - 11:30
Tuesday, October 1, 2013 - 11:30
Wednesday, October 2, 2013 - 11:30
Thursday, October 3, 2013 - 11:30
Friday, October 4, 2013 - 11:30
Monday, October 7, 2013 - 11:30
Tuesday, October 8, 2013 - 11:30
Wednesday, October 9, 2013 - 11:30
Thursday, October 10, 2013 - 11:30
Friday, October 11, 2013 - 11:30
Tuesday, October 15, 2013 - 11:30
Wednesday, October 16, 2013 - 11:30
Thursday, October 17, 2013 - 11:30
Friday, October 18, 2013 - 11:30
Monday, October 21, 2013 - 11:30
Tuesday, October 22, 2013 - 11:30
Wednesday, October 23, 2013 - 11:30
Thursday, October 24, 2013 - 11:30
Friday, October 25, 2013 - 11:30
Monday, October 28, 2013 - 11:30
Tuesday, October 29, 2013 - 11:30
Wednesday, October 30, 2013 - 11:30
Thursday, October 31, 2013 - 11:30
Friday, November 1, 2013 - 11:30
Monday, November 4, 2013 - 11:30
Tuesday, November 5, 2013 - 11:30
Wednesday, November 6, 2013 - 11:30
Thursday, November 7, 2013 - 11:30
Friday, November 8, 2013 - 11:30
Tuesday, November 12, 2013 - 11:30
Wednesday, November 13, 2013 - 11:30
Thursday, November 14, 2013 - 11:30
Friday, November 15, 2013 - 11:30
Monday, November 18, 2013 - 11:30
Tuesday, November 19, 2013 - 11:30
Wednesday, November 20, 2013 - 11:30
Thursday, November 21, 2013 - 11:30
Friday, November 22, 2013 - 11:30
Monday, November 25, 2013 - 11:30
Tuesday, November 26, 2013 - 11:30
Wednesday, November 27, 2013 - 11:30
Monday, December 2, 2013 - 11:30
Tuesday, December 3, 2013 - 11:30
Wednesday, December 4, 2013 - 11:30
Thursday, December 5, 2013 - 11:30
Friday, December 6, 2013 - 11:30
Monday, December 9, 2013 - 11:30
Tuesday, December 10, 2013 - 11:30
Wednesday, December 11, 2013 - 11:30
Thursday, December 12, 2013 - 11:30
Friday, December 13, 2013 - 11:30
Monday, December 16, 2013 - 11:30
Tuesday, December 17, 2013 - 11:30
Wednesday, December 18, 2013 - 11:30
Thursday, December 19, 2013 - 11:30
Friday, December 20, 2013 - 11:30
Monday, January 6, 2014 - 11:30
Tuesday, January 7, 2014 - 11:30
Wednesday, January 8, 2014 - 11:30
Thursday, January 9, 2014 - 11:30
Friday, January 10, 2014 - 11:30
Monday, January 13, 2014 - 11:30
Friday, January 17, 2014 - 11:30
Tuesday, January 21, 2014 - 11:30
Wednesday, January 22, 2014 - 11:30
Thursday, January 23, 2014 - 11:30
Friday, January 24, 2014 - 11:30
Monday, January 27, 2014 - 11:30
Tuesday, January 28, 2014 - 11:30
Wednesday, January 29, 2014 - 11:30
Thursday, January 30, 2014 - 11:30
Administrative Notes: 
Weekdays, fall 2013, hourly repertory schedule, alternating with "Cosmic Collisions" Sept 3 through Jan 30, 2014 except on Rain Forest & Planetarium maintenance closure days, Columbus Day, Veteran's Day, Thanksgiving & Christmas holiday periods.